Year Awarded: 2005
Category: Horse Racing - 3 successive Melbourne Cups
Spirit Of Sport Award

Makybe Diva - Horse Racing - 3 successive Melbourne Cups

The inaugural Sprit of Sport Award was given to Makybe Diva and her connections (Lee Freedman, Tony Santic, and Glen Boss) for her three successive Melbourne Cups (2003, 2004, 2005), becoming the first racehorse (and only mare) to do so. Only four other horses have won the Cup more than once in the 145 year history of the event: ('Archer' in 1861 and 1862, 'Peter Pan' in 1932 and 1934, 'Rain Lover' in 1968 and 1969 and 'Think Big' in 1974 and 1975).

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.