Year Awarded: 2002
Sport: Rugby League
Team Sport Australia Award

Kangaroos Team (Rugby League) - 1963

The 1963 Kangaroos were the first Australian team to win the coveted rugby league ‘Ashes’ trophy in England. There had been ten previous Kangaroo tours of Great Britain and France prior to 1963 and no Australian side had won the Ashes in Great Britain. The achievement was even more creditable when the quality of the British side is considered. Contained in the British team were some of their greatest ever players, underlining the merit and importance of the series win. As a further indication that this was a pivotal moment in rugby league history, Australia has not lost a series in England since the 1963 Kangaroos showed them what could be done.

Kangaroo Test Tour


Arthur Summons


Arthur Summons

Team Members:

John Cleary, Mike Cleary, Peter Diamond, Ken Day, Peter Gallagher, Reg Gasnier, John Gleeson, Brian Hambly, Earl Harrison, Ken Irvine, Les Johns, Noel Kelly, Graeme Langlands, Jim Lisle, Barry Muir, Paul Quinn, John Raper, Barry Rushworth, Kevin Ryan, Kevin Smyth, Frank Stanton, Dick Thornett, Ken Thornett, Ian Walsh, Graham Wilson.

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.