Year Awarded: 2003
Sport: Rugby Union
Team Sport Australia Award

Wallabies (Rugby Union) - 1908

The first Australian Team to tour Britain and the first Australian Team to be called the “Wallabies”. In winning the Gold Medal for Rugby at the 1908 Olympics, they became the only Australian team to win an Olympic Gold Medal in Rugby Union and the first Australian Team to win an Olympic Gold Medal for a team event in any sport.

British Tour

H M Moran

Team Members: H M Moran (Captain), F Wood, C H McKivat, P P Carmichael, W Dix, C Russell, H F Daly, D B Carroll, J J Hickey, A J M McCabe, F Bede Smith, E F Mandible, C E Parkinson, W S Prentice, J M Stevenson, T S Griffin, J T Barnett, C A Hammand, E J McIntyre, M McArthur, P A McCue, P H B Burge, S A Middleton, C McMurtrie, N E Row, R R Craig, T J Richards, P Flanagan, A B Burge, K A Gavin.

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.