Year Awarded: 2004
Sport: Australian Football
Team Sport Australia Award

Melbourne Football Club (Australian Football) - 1956

Not only did Melbourne win the Premiership at 1st XVIII level, it also won at reserves and thirds level. The team contained one of the most powerful ruck combinations of all time in Denis Cordner, Ron Barassi, and Stuart Spencer and won the Grand Final by 73 points. The team was so strong it was able to lose six members of the team the following year and still win the premiership.

AFL Premiership

Norm Smith

Noel McMahen

Team Members: B: J Beckwith, T Johnson, P Marquis HB: K Carroll, N McMahon, D Williams C: F Adams, B Dixon, K Melville HF: C Laidlaw, L Mithen, J Sandral F: R Johnson, A Webb, I Ridley R: D Cordner, R Barassi, S Spencer Reserves: T Gleeson, R Lane.

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.