Year Awarded: 2005
Sport: Swimming
Team Sport Australia Award

Men's 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay Team (Swimming) - 1912

Since the 4 x 200m freestyle relay became part of the Olympic swimming program in 1906, Australia has won it three times, each 44 years apart --- in 1912, 1956 and 2000. The first time, the Australian Olympic team competed as Australasia. In the relay final, then regarded as the symbol of world swimming supremacy, they were up against an American team led by the great Hawaiian Duke Kahanamoku, and were hampered by the absence through illness of Billy Longworth --- an absence estimated to be worth 10 seconds. Healy, Champion (NZ), and Boardman set up a 15-metre lead over the US, and in the final leg Kahanamoku could make no impression on Hardwick. The Australasians won in world record time. Six years later Healy died on the Somme … the only Australian gold medallist ever killed in action.

Olympic Games, Stockholm

Team Members: Cecil Healy, Harold Hardwick, Les Boardman, Malcolm Champion (NZ)

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.