Year Awarded: 2006
Sport: Rugby Union
Team Sport Australia Award

The Wallabies (Rugby Union) - 1999

Australia became the first country to claim the World Cup twice, defeating France in the final 35-12, allowing only five points throughout the knock-out stages. That same year, the team defeated England to retain the Cook Cup for the fifth time in a game played before 81,006 people at Sydney’s Stadium Australia. Australia also won the Bledisloe Cup for the second time in 1999 trouncing the All Blacks 28-7 in front of a record crowd.

World Cup

Rod Macqueen

John Eales

Team Members: Andrew Blades, Tom Bowman, Matt Burke, Matt Cockbain, Mark Connors, Dan Crowley, John Eales (captain), Owen Finegan, Michael Foley, David Giffin, George Gregan, Nathan Grey, Richard Harry, Daniel Herbert, Tim Horan, Rod Kafer, Phil Kearns, Toutai Kefu, Stephen Larkham, Chris Latham, Jason Little, Patricio Noriega, Jeremy Paul, Joe Roff, Scott Staniforth, Tiaan Strauss, Ben Tune, Chris Whitaker, Jim Williams, David Wilson.

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.