Year Awarded: 2006
Sport: Football
Team Sport Australia Award

Socceroos 2006 (Football) - 2006

For the first time in 32 years, Australia qualified for and competed at the FIFA World Cup. On a memorable night in Sydney, the Socceroos faced Uruguay, ranked 18 in the world (Australia was ranked 49 at the time). Taking the game to a penalty shootout, Australia won 4-2 with Australian goal keeper Mark Schwarzer making two saves. The country was united as fans from all backgrounds rejoiced as the Socceroos qualified for the World Cup.

In Germany, placed in Group F, Australia was grouped with Croatia, Japan, and defending champions Brazil. Under the guidance of master coach Guus Hiddinck, the Socceroos defeated Japan 3-1 in their opening game, with Tim Cahill scoring two goals followed by John Aloisi, all in the last eight minutes - to claim their first World Cup finals victory. These goals were the first ever scored by Australia in the World Cup finals, and Australia became the first team in the 2006 tournament to come back after being 1-0 down. No other team has scored three goals in the last eight minutes of a match in World Cup finals history.

FIFA World Cup

Guus Hiddink

Mark Viduka

Team Members: Mark Schwarzer, Lucas Neill, Craig Moore, Tim Cahill, Jason Culina, Tony Popovic, Brett Emerton, Josip Skoko, Mark Viduka (captain), Harry Kewell, Stan Lazaridis, Ante Covic, Vince Grella, Scott Chipperfield, John Aloisi, Michael Beauchamp, Archie Tompson, Zeljko Kalac, Joshua Kennedy, Luke Wilkshire, Mile Sterjovski, Mark Milligan, Mark Breschiano

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.