Year Awarded: 2012
Sport: Netball
Team Sport Australia Award

Australian Netball Team (Netball) - 1991

Australia’s 53-52 World Championship victory over reigning champions New Zealand at a packed Sydney Entertainment Centre in 1991 was hailed as one of the greatest netball games ever.  

It also set Australia on the path to a hat-trick of World titles which reasserted Australia’s  position as the world’s leading netball nation in the face of the constant threat from New Zealand. 

The ‘91 classic --  the finale to the Eighth World Netball Championships --  was broadcast live by the Ten network and the Netball Australia website still lists it as the most watched netball match in Australian history. 

It was a thriller from the outset.  New Zealand held a one point lead at each change, Australia scraped ahead with minutes to go and then intercepted an attacking NZ pass to protect their lead with seconds to spare.

Prime Minister Bob Hawke, a lifelong sports enthusiast, called it the best sporting contest he had seen. It makes the side fitting inclusions among Australia’s greatest sporting teams.


World Championship


Joyce Brown OAM


Michelle den Dekker OAM

Team Members:

Vicki Wilson (Captained in Final). Jennifer Borlase, Carissa Dalwood, Keeley Devery, Sharon Finnan, Rosalee Jencke, Sue Kenny, Simone McKinnis, Shelley O'Donnell, Catriona Wagg,  

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.