Spirit Of Sport Award

To acknowledge extraordinary sporting achievements and performances that capture the hearts of the nation, The Sport Australia Hall of Fame introduced the 'Spirit of Sport' Award in 2005. This award is not intended to be given annually but to be granted, at the Board's discretion, for a performance that is very special and destined to be part of Australian sporting history. 

Download prinatble / PDF version here:'Spirit of Sport Award' winners list

2005 | 2006 | 2010 | 2013 | 2015 | 2016 | 2019 | All
Name Sport / Category Year Awarded
Black Caviar Horse Racing - Unbeaten Record 2013
Jessica Watson Sailing Solo around the World 2010
Luke Beveridge AFL - Modesty, Generosity and Mateship 2016
Makybe Diva Horse Racing - 3 successive Melbourne Cups 2005
Melbourne Cricket Ground Australian Icon 2006
Mick Fanning and Julian Wilson Act of bravery and mateship 2015
Team Winx Honouring the Record-Breaking Achievements of Team Winx 2019
Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.