SAHOF Breaking News

30th Jul 2014

2015 Scholarship & Mentoring Program Now Closed



"Honouring the Past, Inspiring the Future"

(VALUED AT OVER $10,000)

CLOSING DATE: 5pm Friday 18th July, 2014


Australian Junior Athletes (U/21) were invited to apply for The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship & Mentoring Program for 2015.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame’s Vision is to preserve and celebrate the history of Australian Sport and to excite the next generation of Australians to achieve their potential both in sport and life. The Scholarship & Mentoring Program is one opportunity to continue achieving our Vision.

To help young Australians achieve at the highest level of their sport, the Scholarship will provide encouragement and funding for 12 months.

More importantly, Scholarship holders will enjoy unrivalled access to and personal one-on-one mentoring from an Inducted Member; surely no greater way to inspire young sportspeople to fulfil their potential.

One of Australia’s most prestigious organisations, The Sport Australia Hall of Fame represents the pinnacle of sporting achievement in Australia, acknowledging sporting greats who have gone beyond their sport to achieve cultural significance. Inductees include Sir Don Bradman, Dawn Fraser, John Eales, Catherine Freeman, Ian Thorpe, Liz Ellis, Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne, Layne Beachley, Kostya Tszyu, Louise Sauvage and many more.

Each 12 month Scholarship will apply from January 1 to December 31, 2015.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship & Mentoring Program will consist of:

  • One-on-one personal mentoring by an Inducted Member of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame
  • A $5,000 sporting expenses grant
  • On stage presentation of the Scholarship Certificate at The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Gala Dinner at the Palladium at Crown Melbourne on Thursday 9th October, 2014. (Travel cost for recipient covered).
  • One international return economy flight within the Etihad Airways network. (For sporting use only).
  • ‘The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship Holder’ logo for agreed use.

Since the introduction of the Program in 2006, 52 young Australian athletes (View Full List) have benefited from the opportunity of a lifetime to draw on the experience and wisdom of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Members in addition to the valuable cash grant and international airfare.

Scholarship holders have been privileged to be mentored by such Australian sporting legends as;  Catherine Freeman, Susie O’Neill, Rechelle Hawkes, David Parkin, Robert de Castella, Bruce McAvaney, Nick Farr-Jones, Andrew Gaze, Liz Ellis, Mick Doohan and SAHOF Chairman, John Bertrand.

The success of this Program is outstanding with 17 past/present Scholarship recipients representing Australia at the London 2012 Olympic & Paralympic Games and more recently 10 of our recipients being selected to represent Australia at the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games.

Chairman John Bertrand AM who was Mentor to 2013 Scholarship Holder and Olympic Silver Medallist Olivia Pricesaid “The SAHOF Scholarship & Mentoring Program provides an unique opportunity to learn from people who have performed and succeeded at the highest level”.

The eligibility criteria and nomination form are available under Nomination Information.

DONATE in support of the Scholarship & Mentoring Program. If you would like to support the program, donations are tax deductible. Refer to the official form for details.

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.