SAHOF Breaking News

2nd Nov 2018

SAHOF November News


Nominate an Australian Sporting Great for Induction into
The Sport Australia Hall of Fame

*Nominations for consideration for 2019 Induction close on 10th December 2018 (nominations DO NOT need to be submitted every year)

Membership of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) is the crowning achievement of a sporting career and represents the highest level of peer recognition for an individual's contribution to his or her sport.

Established in 1985 and with a Vision and values built around the words of our first Inductee and inaugural ‘Legend of Australian Sport’ Sir Donald Bradman AC, our 565 Inducted Members represent an illustrious group of Australia's most respected sportspeople and personnel; who through their achievements over 170 years, have made a significant contribution to our nations sporting history.

Membership is limited exclusively to the top echelon of Australian athletes (Athlete Category) who have achieved excellence at the highest level and to those who have shown outstanding and game-changing achievements in roles supportive to sports participation (General Category) such as coaching, sports science and administration.

Annually, up to eight Australians have their place etched in history with formal Induction conferred upon them at The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Annual Induction & Awards Gala Dinner.

Nominations are open year-round and any person or organisation may submit a nomination form for a person for consideration for Membership.

Nomination forms received by December 10 of each year will be considered by the Selection Committee for the following year. Once a nomination has been made they remain on file for future annual consideration.

Please refer to the SAHOF website for selection criteria and further nomination details: NOMINATE NOW


Photo below: 2018 Inductees. (L-R) Allan Moffat OBE, Sam Coffa AM, Robyn Maher AM, Wendy Botha, Gai Waterhouse, Darren Lockyer, Drew Ginn OAM. Absent: Harry Kewell

2018 Inductees

2018 Gala Dinner Gallery & Videos

Our Class of 2018 were formally Inducted at Australian sport’s “Night of Nights”, The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Gala Dinner held at Palladium at Crown, Melbourne on October 10, 2018.

Other awards on the evening included the posthumous Elevation of Member Richie Benaud OBE to official “Legend of Australian Sport” status, Kurt Fearnley being named as the 2018 'The Don' and the announcement of the five junior athletes selected for participation in the 2019 Scholarship & Mentoring Program.

You can relive all the action by watching our highlights packages and viewing the photo Albums by clicking on the following links:


Vision Packages

Highlights Reel

All Stage Presentation Packages

Kurt Fearnley 'The Don' Acceptance speech


Photo Albums

All Albums

Red Carpet Arrivals

Members Entry Walk In

'The Don'

40th Legend of Australian Sport: Richie Benaud OBE

Inductees at National Sports Museum

Formal Induction

Scholarship & Mentoring Program


Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.