Scholarship & Mentoring Program Overview

View the 2020 SAHOF Scholarship & Mentoring Program recipients here

Applications for the 2021 Scholarship & Mentoring Program will open mid 2020.



"Celebrating the Past, Exciting the Future"

One-on-one personal mentoring by an Induction SAHOF Member!

Australian junior athletes (U/21) are invited to apply for The Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) Scholarship & Mentoring Program annually. 

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame’s Vision is to preserve and celebrate the history of Australian Sport and to inspire all Australians to achieve their potential both in sport and life.

The Scholarship & Mentoring Program is one opportunity to continue achieving our Vision by helping young Australians achieve at the highest level of their sport. The Scholarship & Mentoring Program, will provide encouragement, support and funding for 14 months.

Most importantly, Scholarship Holders will enjoy unrivalled access to, and personal one-on-one mentoring from an Inducted SAHOF Member, surely no greater way to inspire young sportspeople to fulfil their potential.

One of Australia’s most prestigious organisations, The Sport Australia Hall of Fame, represents the pinnacle of sporting achievement in Australia by acknowledging sporting greats who have gone beyond their sport to achieve cultural significance. Inductees include Sir Don Bradman AC, Dawn Fraser AC MBE, John Eales AM, Catherine Freeman OAM, Ian Thorpe AM, Liz Ellis AO, Glenn McGrath AM, Layne Beachley AO, Louise Sauvage OAM, Tony Lockett and many more.


Each Scholarship is applicable from presentation of Scholarship on stage at the Induction & Awards Gala Dinner (October) to following December 31, 14 months.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship & Mentoring Program consists of:

  • A $5,000 sporting expenses grant
  • ‘The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship Holder’ logo for agreed use
  • Strictly five Scholarships awarded


Since the introduction of the Program in 2006, 78 young Australian athletes (81 Scholarships) (Scholarship List) across 36 sports and 55 Members as Mentors have benefited from the opportunity of a lifetime to draw on the experience and wisdom of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Members in addition to the valuable cash grant.

Scholarship holders have been privileged to be mentored by such Australian sporting greats as; Catherine Freeman OAM, Susie O’Neill AM, Rechelle Hawkes AM, Adam Gilchrist AM, Robert de Castella AO MBE, Bruce McAvaney OAM, Nick Farr-Jones AM, Andrew Gaze AM, Mick Doohan AM and SAHOF Chair, John Bertrand AO.

The success of this Program is outstanding, with 20 past Scholarship recipients representing Australia at the 2016 Rio Olympic and Paralympic Games, 17 at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, 5 at the Winter 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Games and 15 at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Chair John Bertrand AO who was Mentor to 2013 Scholarship Holder and 2012 Olympic Silver Medallist, Olivia Price, said; “the Mentoring is a money can't buy opportunity. The impact of the Mentoring on our Scholarship Holders has been profound".

Poppy Starr Olsen, 2018 Scholarship and Mentoring Program recipient, who is being Mentored by Layne Beachley AO, stated "One of the best things about the SAHOF Scholarship is it gives me the opportunity to be mentored by Layne Beachley, an incredible athlete with so much knowledge.

 Layne has already provided me with a wealth of information and advice that I have been using for the past eight months. I have found her knowledge incredibly helpful especially in the lead up and throughout competitions." 

Watch Poppy's video about her experience as a SAHOF Scholarship Holder here: Poppy Starr Olsen

Watch Anabelle Smiths video about her experience as a SAHOF Scholarship Holder here: Anabelle Smith


The Scholarship & Mentoring Program Committee is made up of; Chair: Sue Stanley, Belinda Clark, Bonnie Elliott, Gill Brewster,Chris Little and Tania Sullivan.


About the Scholarship & Mentoring Program


View the list of Scholarship Holders here:

2020 Scholarship Recipients

2019 Scholarship Recipients

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Full list of Schoalrship Recipients


The eligibility criteria and nomination forms are available here: Nomination & Criteria Information.
2020 successful applicants released 10 September 2019


Photo above 2019 Scholarship & Mentoring Program (L-R): Sue Stanley - Chair, Lauren Burns OAM, Jaryd Clifford, Rechelle Hawkes AM, Giorgia Patten, Cassiel Rousseau, Karla Gilbert OAM, Nick Green OAM, Tess Coady, Cameron Shields, Graeme Lloyd, Belinda Clark AO - Selection Committee

If you would like to support our young Australians achieve their goals and support the Scholarship & Mentoring Program, please donate online here or complete the below Donation Form.

SAHOF Scholarship Program Donation Form

 Through our fundraising partnership with the Australian Sports Foundation, donations are tax deductible.


About the SAHOF Scholarship & Mentoring Program from sahof on Vimeo.

Proudly Supported By
Follow Us
Videos E-news
Facebook Subscribe
When considering the stature of an athlete or for that matter any person, I set great store in certain qualities which I believe to be essential in addition to skill. They are that the person conducts his of her life with dignity, with integrity, courage, and perhaps most of all, with modesty. These virtues are totally compatible with pride, ambition, and competitiveness.