skip to Main Content

Team Sport Australia Award | 2011

Australian Football

Brisbane Lions (Australian Football) – 2003

In winning the 2003 AFL premiership the Lions notched up some remarkable records:

They became the first AFL or VFL team since Melbourne in 1955-6-7 to win a hat trick of Premierships (and only the fourth in AFL/VFL history). The victory also gave the club its third flag in seven years of competition since it was formed from the merger of the Fitzroy Lions and the Brisbane Bears.

The first of those three flags, in 2001, also marked the first time the AFL Premiership had gone north of the Murray and in so doing achieved a significant landmark by becoming a serious power in what had traditionally been a rugby stronghold.

AFL Premiership Grand Final

Team Members:

Jason Akermanis, Alastair Lynch, Jonathan Brown, Blake Caracella, Richard Hadley, Martin Pike, Simon Black, Daniel Bradshaw, Shaun Hart, Craig McRae, Justin Leppitsch, Nigel Lappin, Michael Voss, Luke Power, Chris Johnson, Darryl White, Mal Michael, Clark Keating, Robert Copeland, Jamie Charmer, Ash McGrath, Marcus Ashcroft.


Back To Top
×Close search