skip to Main Content

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) is proud to announce that former Australian Prime Ministers, the Hon Robert (Bob) Hawke AC and the Hon John Howard OM AC have been appointed as Co-Patrons of SAHOF.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is the most prestigious sporting institution in the country, honouring over 200 years of Australian sporting achievement with its 525 Members representing the pinnacle of sporting excellence. Established in 1985, it recognises, preserves and celebrates our nation’s greatest sporting achievements across both genders, all sports, and on and off the field of play.

SAHOF Chairman, Mr John Bertrand AM said, “Mr Hawke and Mr Howard are two of our country’s longest serving leaders.  Despite being from opposing sides of the political fence, both are renowned for their passion for sport and their understanding of the value of sport to our nation.  Their appointment as Co-Patrons of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame depicts the way in which sport unites all Australians.

Sport and perhaps more specifically, the ‘spirit of sport’ has been a fundamental building block for our young nation.  The values of trust, respect, sportsmanship and the sense of a fair go, are all part of the value system of sport in Australia.  The ‘spirit of sport’ instills these values, particularly in our young, as they benchmark, develop and shape their own lives. Today, more than ever, we need to re-assert the best values of sport.  Our children need positive role models and our SAHOF Members stand among the most influential people of our nation.” said Mr Bertrand.

Both Mr Hawke, Australia’s longest serving Labor Prime Minister (1983-1991) and Mr Howard, Australia’s second-longest serving Prime Minister (1996-2007) have been strong supporters of the enormous contribution that sport makes to Australia and how sport bridges various social and other divides that may exist in the community.

On accepting the appointment, Mr Howard said; “Sport has always expressed so much of what is good, competitive and energetic about Australia, and I am delighted to join Bob Hawke as a Co-Patron of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame.”

“Australia’s love of,  and excellence in sport crosses all political boundaries and therefore, like John Howard, I am delighted to join together with him and John Bertrand in helping to advance the good work of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame”, said Mr Hawke.

Mr Hawke and Mr Howard have joined together with SAHOF’s Chairman Mr John Bertrand to lead the newly developed “Foundation Partner” program to support and grow the foundations of The Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

Sport is a defining part of Australian social culture and The Sport Australia Hall of Fame plays a very important role in preserving, perpetuating and celebrating the nation’s rich sporting heritage, serving as an inspiration to all Australians and exciting the next generation to achieve their potential both in sport and in life.

– Ends –

Tania Sullivan
Operations Manager, The Sport Australia Hall of Fame
M: 0413 091 974

About The Sport Australia Hall of Fame  (

With a vision and values built around the inspirational words of SAHOF’s first Inductee and Legend, Sir Donald Bradman AC, The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is determined to carry to Australians everywhere the symbol  of excellence as represented by its 525 Member across all sports and genders.

Sport is a defining and dominant part of Australian social culture and in honouring the Member achievements, SAHOF preserves, presents and shares this priceless sporting heritage to all Australians.  The message is a valuable one, which emphasise the rich rewards in life that are offered by  striving to attain the SAHOF values; Courage, Sportsmanship, Integrity, Mateship, Persistence & Excellence, underpinned by Generosity, Modesty, Pride & Ambition.

Induction into SAHOF is the highest national sporting honour that can be bestowed.  With 525 Members it represents the pinnacle of Australian sporting excellence and Members include sporting icons such as Sir Donald Bradman, Dawn Fraser, Betty Cuthbert, Ted Whitten, Shirley Strickland, Arthur “Scobie” Breasley, Reg Gasnier, John Landy, Herb Elliott, Ron Barassi, Sir Jack Brabham, Wally Lewis, John Eales, Glenn McGrath, Catherine Freeman and Layne Beachley, along with coaches, administrators, sports scientists and media commentators, all who have left their indelible mark on sport in this country.

Each year eight new Members are Inducted into The Sport Australia Hall of Fame, “The Don” athlete of the year is announced and awarded and one Member is elevated to “Legend” status.  Adam Scott was named as The Sport Australia Hall of Fame’s “The Don” winner for 2013.  This was announced at the prestigious Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, renowned as Australia’s most prestigious sporting awards ceremony and attended leading politicians, corporations and Australian sporting luminaries.  At the same Dinner, John Bertrand AM was elevated to become the “35th Legend of Australian Sport”.

Annually five Scholarship are awarded via the “Scholarship & Mentoring Program”. Each Scholarship Holders is assigned a personal mentor from within the SAHOF Memberships.  Since 2005, 45 junior athletes have benefited by this program, each receiving financial grants, international airfares and mentoring.


2023 SAHOF Inductees

2023 SAHOF Inductees

SPORT AUSTRALIA HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES SEVEN NEW INDUCTEES Seven new inductees were announced today for…

Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search