skip to Main Content
Australian Sport’s Night of Night’s 50 Days Away

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Gala Dinner will celebrate the champions of our nation – past and present – on Thursday 13th October 2016 at Palladium at Crown, Melbourne.

Membership to the Sport Australia Hall of Fame is widely considered the highest national sporting honour that can be bestowed. With 541 members, it represents the pinnacle of Australian sporting excellence.

Presented by Etihad Airways, the Sport Australia Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Gala Dinner is also the largest gathering of Australian sporting greats in the one room for the one night each year, in celebration of Australia’s finest.

2016 will mark the 32nd edition of this event, with a further eight Australian sporting icons, from on and off the field, to be inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

The new members will join those who represent more than 160 years of Australian sporting excellence, including Sir Donald Bradman AC, Dawn Fraser AO MBE, Betty Cuthbert AM MBE, Rod Laver AC MBE, Bart Cummings AM, Leigh Matthews AM, Wally Lewis AM, John Eales AM, Greg Norman AO, Catherine Freeman OAM, Layne Beachley AO, Ricky Ponting AO, Casey Stoner AM, John Coates AC and Bruce McAvaney OAM.

In addition to the eight Inductees, Australian sport’s ‘night of nights’ will see the elevation of one current Member to Legend status, becoming the official 38th Legend of Australian Sport.

The night will also celebrate ‘The Don’ Award which is widely regarded as Australia’s most prestigious contemporary sporting award. ‘The Don’ is named in honour of our first Inductee, the late Sir Donald Bradman AC and is awarded annually to the athlete or team who, through their performance and example over the past twelve months, have most inspired the nation. A shortlist of nominations will be released early next month.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Chairman John Bertrand AO said the 2016 Inductees will represent Australia’s broad sporting participation and success on the world stage.

“Our 2016 Inductees represent a diverse range of sports and all have been the absolute best in their business,” Bertrand said.

“Induction into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame is an honour set aside for those select few who reach the top echelon of sport, have shown excellence throughout their career and in doing so have offered inspiration and example to all Australians.”

“Sport is a defining and dominant part of Australian society and in honouring sporting achievements the Sport Australia Hall of Fame preserves, celebrates and shares the priceless sporting heritage to all Australians. Induction into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame is one of the highest honours that can be bestowed and our new members will be recognised at the pinnacle of Australian sporting excellence,” Bertrand added.

The 2016 gala will also recognise the next generation of Australian sporting success.

The Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship and Mentoring Program will see five junior Australian athletes mentored by five current Hall of Fame Members for the next twelve months. As well as providing a $5,000 sporting grant and an Etihad Airways international airfare, the program will offer a rare, money can’t buy experience that will further nurture and support the future of Australian sport.

Established in 1985, the Sport Australia Hall of Fame plays a vital role in preserving and perpetuating Australia’s rich sporting heritage, whilst promoting the values of courage, sportsmanship, integrity, mateship, persistence, and excellence, all underpinned by generosity, modesty, pride and ambition.


2023 SAHOF Inductees

2023 SAHOF Inductees

SPORT AUSTRALIA HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES SEVEN NEW INDUCTEES Seven new inductees were announced today for…

Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search