skip to Main Content

Team Sport Australia Award | 2014


Australia’s 1965 softball team holds the irremovable honour of being the first official world softball champions. Although international competitions had been held previously, the International Softball Federation first staged an official World Championship Series in 1965, in Melbourne, Australia.

The usually dominant USA was the clear favourite heading in to the tournament, however it was the home team that emerged triumphant as Australia defeated Team USA 1-0 in the final. Australia’s Lorraine Woolley was voted player of the series.

Since then, Australia has won silver in 1998 and bronze in 1974 and ’82, but the 1965 team remain our only softball World Champions.

World Championships

Myrtle Edwards (Head Coach)
Audrey McLaughlin (Assistant)

Team Officials
Merle Short (Team Manager)
Pat Shearwood (Scorer)

Team Members
Gladys Phillips (C), Lorraine Woolley (VC), Norma Allsopp, Margaret Dodds, Rita Gherardin, Elinor McKenzie, Helena Meehan, Nina Menner, Midge Nelson BEM, Judy Pizaro, Marjorie Scott, Margaret Swann, Sandra Sommerville, Nancy Whittingham


Back To Top
×Close search