skip to Main Content
2024 Scholarship & Mentoring Program Tier 2 Scholarship Holders Announced
Tier 2 Schols website


The Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) is investing in our athletes of the future, naming 10 emerging stars who will receive Tier 2 scholarships in its 2024 Scholarship and Mentoring Program.

From daredevils who conquer steep hills to adrenaline junkies navigating terrifying terrain, these are the 10 young guns who will each receive a grant of $5,000 plus support from SAHOF and its esteemed member base over the next 16 months to help with their financial and other challenges. They are:

Sarah Nicki (freestyle BMX), Maya Stasiuk (sport climbing), Poppy Wilson (para swimming), Brock Batty (gymnastics – trampoline), Leon Sejranovic (taekwondo), Casey Isles (archery), Susannah Lutze (para rowing), Calab Law (athletics), Evie Saunders (sailing) and Chelsea Jones (surf life saving).

Thrill-seeking schoolgirl Maya Stasiuk, 15, is taking Australia to new heights.  She started indoor climbing at the age of four after her parents decided that climbing up doorframes and six-metre trees was too dangerous. Now she’s hoping to qualify for Paris 2024.

“This scholarship will provide me with support from a network of extraordinary Australian athletes. These are people who have been, or are still, on the same journey as myself,” Maya said.

“As a young athlete in an emerging sport, it is vital to have the support necessary to travel, compete and train so that I can stand amongst the best in the world, hoping one day to represent my country at the Olympics.”

The three-tiered program awards annual funding of $150,000 across 32 scholarships to support the next generation of Australia’s sporting stars on their journey to excellence and success in sport and in life. As well as funding via a sporting expenses grant, all three tiers include SAHOF encouragement and support via various initiatives throughout the program. All three tiers are also provided with merchandise from SAHOF’s partners BLACKROLL® and Grip Star Socks

The SAHOF Scholarship & Mentoring Program – the nation’s leading sports scholarship program – is backed by the Australian Sports Commission incorporating the Australian Institute of Sport.

Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship & Mentoring Program Chair, Sue Stanley OAM,said:  “I am so impressed by the breadth of talent we have amongst our junior athletes in this country. This year we received the most applications on record for our Scholarship and Mentoring Program, and I am excited to follow the journeys of the 32 young athletes who have been selected as they strive to achieve the highest level in their chosen sport.

“With the Paris 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games fast approaching, it will be a particularly exciting year ahead following the journey of our current and past scholarship holders who are working towards competing in these Games. It is a privilege to play a small part in assisting elite young Australian athletes by motivating and inspiring them to achieve their goals.”

Last week the Sport Australia Hall of Fame unveiled the exceptional athletes awarded a $10,000 Tier 1 scholarship within its 2024 Scholarship & Mentoring program with four Olympic Gold medal champions, a surfing superstar and one of Australia’s most decorated Australian rules footballers set to mentor our next generation.

2024 Sport Australia Hall of Fame Tier 2 Scholarship Holders

Calab Law (QLD) – Athletics
Sarah Nicki (QLD) – Feestyle BMX
Maya Stasiuk (VIC) – Sport Climbing
Poppy Wilson (QLD) – Para Swimming
Leon Sejranovic (VIC) – Taekwondo
Casey Isles (SA) – Archery
Susannah Lutze (NSW) – Para Rowing
Brock Batty (VIC) – Gymnastics
Evie Saunders (NSW) – Sailing
Chelsea Jones (NSW) – Surf Life Saving

Quotes from each of the Tier 2 scholarship recipients and their national sporting organisations are available here.


Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search