skip to Main Content




Tim Horan AM



Michael competed in the 2009 Australian Youth Olympic Festival winning gold for Australia in the Teams Pursuit. Just two weeks later at the National Track Cycling Championships in Adelaide he won 3 gold and a silver as well as breaking the Junior World Record in the 3000m Individual Pursuit. Michael was then selected for the 2009 Australian Junior Track Cycling Team, but unfortunately broke a wrist during a training camp with the national team which meant he missed the Australian Junior Road Cycling Championships.

In August Michael went on to compete at the UCI Junior World Cycling Championships where he won gold in the 3000m Individual Pursuit beating his own World Record twice that day (in qualifying rounds and in the Gold medal final). Michael also placed 2nd in the 4000m Teams Pursuit and 4th in the Omnium event.

After returning from the Junior World Championships he raced with the Fly V Australia Pro Cycling Team at the Tour of the Murray River, a National Road Series event, where he won 2 stages.

Michael states that his future ambitions include representing Australia at the London 2012 Olympics and to ride with a Pro Tour team.

Instagram | Twitter


Back To Top
×Close search