skip to Main Content

Team Sport Australia Award | 2007


The 1950 Davis Cup was the 39th edition of, arguably, the most important national men’s team tournament in world tennis and featured 22 teams from the European Zone and four from the American zone. It was the first time the tournament had been played on Asian soil in Cup history when the Philippines hosted Pakistan in Manila.

Australia defeated Mexico in the America Zone final and faced off against Sweden in the Inter-Zonal play off, before defeating the defending champion USA team in the final played at the West Side Tennis Club in New York.

In the Challenge Round against the reigning titleholders, the young pair of Frank Sedgman and Ken McGregor each won their opening singles matches against Tom Brown and Ted Schroeder respectively, before Sedgman and veteran John Bromwich combined for an epic five-set doubles battle, emerging triumphant against the US pairing of Mulloy and Schroeder to seal victory for Australia, ushering in a golden age for tennis in Australia that saw the team claim 16 of the next 24 Davis Cups.

Davis Cup

Harry Hopman

Team Members
Frank Sedgman, Ken McGregor, John Bromwich, Mervyn Rose (non-playing), George Worthington (non-playing)


Back To Top
×Close search