skip to Main Content
2021 Scholarship & Mentoring Program Wrap-Up
News Featured image template

Since its inception in 2006, there have been five successful athletes each paired with a Member of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame as one of their Mentors.

Now in its 15th year, and with thanks to Australian Government funding from Sport Australia and the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS), our expanded Program now offers three Tiers, with a total of 32 Scholarships being awarded.

Tier 1 includes six young athletes, all from different sports, who will each receive a $10,000 sporting grant and be personally mentored by some of Australian sport’s most iconic names.

Ten Tier 2 Scholarships have been granted to young athletes from 10 different sports, who will each receive a $5,000 sporting grant.

A further 16 young athletes, have been granted Tier 3 Scholarships and will each receive a $2,500 sporting grant.

Congratulations again to all 32 successful Scholarship Holders and the six Mentors for providing their valuable time and expertise.

Tier 1 Scholarship Holders & Mentors

Josie Baff
Susie O’Neill AM

Ari Gesini
Athletics – Long Jump (T38)
George Gregan AM

Tier 2 Scholarship Holders

Ethan Calleja
Artistic Swimming

Col Pearse
Swimming (Para)

Zoe Cuthbert
Mountain Bike

Maeve Plouffe

Tess Flintoff

Angie Scarth-Johnson
Sports Climbing

Dylan Littlehales
Canoe/Kayak (Para)

Reba Stewart

Nikita Mawhirt
Modern Pentathlon

Cooper Woods
Mogul Skiing

Tier 3 Scholarship Holders


Age State Sport
Ben Booth 18 QLD Volleyball
Erin Classen 16 WA Squash
Will Cooley 18 NSW Sailing
Katja Dedekind 19 QLD Para-Swimming
Charlotte Derbyshire 19 QLD Triathlon
Kailey Harlen 19 NSW Canoe/Kayak
Alex Hoberg 19 SA Shooting
Alysha Koloi 19 QLD Diving
Maleah Lang-McMahon 16 QLD Equestrian
Jamieson Leeson 17 NSW Boccia – Para
Darcie Morton 20 VIC Cross Country Skiing
Abigail Paduch 20 NSW Judo
Hattie Shand 20 SA Hockey
Brendon Smith 20 VIC Swimming/Surf Life Saving
Heath Thorpe 20 QLD Gymnastics
Tom Toparis 20 NSW Motorcycling

Accolades for retiring ASC Chair John Wylie AM

More direct funding to sports and athletes, a more efficient organisation, a focus of improved sport governance and greater recognition for women’s sport and the Paralympic movement highlight the leadership of Australian Sports Commission (ASC) Chair John Wylie AM. Mr Wylie has officially announced he will retire as Chair on November 5 this year, completing an eight-year term. Mr Wylie was appointed in September 2012 as the sixth Chair of the ASC. The ASC and the whole sport sector is indebted to Mr Wylie’s dedication, service and his tireless advocacy for Australian sport. Read more


2023 SAHOF Inductees

2023 SAHOF Inductees

SPORT AUSTRALIA HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES SEVEN NEW INDUCTEES Seven new inductees were announced today for…

Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search