skip to Main Content

Team Sport Australia Award | 2006

Rugby Union

Australia became the first country to claim the World Cup twice, defeating France in the final 35-12, allowing only five points throughout the knock-out stages. That same year, the team defeated England to retain the Cook Cup for the fifth time in a game played before 81,006 people at Sydney’s Stadium Australia. Australia also won the Bledisloe Cup for the second time in 1999 trouncing the All Blacks 28-7 in front of a record crowd.

World Cup

Rod Macqueen

John Eales

Team Members: Andrew Blades, Tom Bowman, Matt Burke, Matt Cockbain, Mark Connors, Dan Crowley, John Eales (captain), Owen Finegan, Michael Foley, David Giffin, George Gregan, Nathan Grey, Richard Harry, Daniel Herbert, Tim Horan, Rod Kafer, Phil Kearns, Toutai Kefu, Stephen Larkham, Chris Latham, Jason Little, Patricio Noriega, Jeremy Paul, Joe Roff, Scott Staniforth, Tiaan Strauss, Ben Tune, Chris Whitaker, Jim Williams, David Wilson.


Back To Top
×Close search