skip to Main Content
SAHOF Autumn Update
News Featured Image

Sport Australia Hall of Fame pays tribute to Member John Coates AC for his leadership of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC).

For more than three decades as President, John has devoted himself to the progression of Australian sport. One of his most important legacies was to secure both the 2000 Sydney Games and the 2032 Brisbane Games.

Thank you John for your remarkable contribution, your name is etched in history.

Your legacy has been passed to a worthy delegate, Ian Chesterman AM. Ian becomes the seventh AOC President during an exciting era for Australian sport

We look forward to working with Ian and the AOC Executives which also includes Sport Australia Hall of Fame Member and Board Member Alisa Camplin-Warner AM.

A special mention goes to Sport Australia Hall of Fame Member, Helen Brownlee AM who was awarded an Australian Olympic Change Maker medal. This recognition reflected her 30 year membership of the AOC and her pioneering role as the first woman to be elected an AOC Vice President, committee work for the AOC and advancing the cause of women in Pacific sport as Chair of the Oceania National Olympic Committees’ Women and Sport Commission.

Congratulations John and Helen and a warm welcome to long-time supporter, Ian Chesterman.

Go Australia!

John Bertrand AO
Chair, Sport Australia Hall of Fame

SAHOF Celebration Events

2020 and 2021 offered challenges and obstacles to overcome but allowed us new opportunities to engage our Members and Scholarship holders.

Over the past three months we have had the opportunity to host five intimate State based events in Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane and Perth to celebrate the Sport Australia Hall of Fame’s 2020 and 2021 Inductees, Legends, Award Winners, Scholarship Holders and Mentors.

These did present their own challenges with COVID protocols, natural disasters in NSW and QLD however, they were intimate, intense, humorous, and provided an opportunity to reconnect in another way.

Across the five events we had in excess of 70 Members and Legends and 30 Scholarship Holders attend. In addition, we saw Dawn Fraser talk at the Brisbane event about the inaugural The Dawn Award, Michelle Payne reminisce on her 2021 Hall of Fame Moment with Stevie Payne stealing the show.

Congratulations to all of our Inductees, Scholarship Holders and Awardees who were finally able to celebrate their incredible achievements in person. The humility in the room was remarkable.

A special mention to our Supporting event Partner, Sportscover, Sponsors Sport Australia and the AIS, Victoria University and event supporters; Treasury Wine Estates and Penfolds who support Sport Australia Hall of Fame as we continue to innovate, grow and recognise our sporting heroes and legends.

View the pictures from all of the celebration events here: Photos

We are seeking to go on free to air television once again for the 2022 celebrations. To re-watch the 2021 Induction & Awards Celebration, please click HERE.

SAHOF Scholarship Update

Congratulations to 2018 Scholarship Holder Ben Tudhope who has been named the 2022 Snow Australia Athlete of the Year (Para Discipline).

2019 Scholarship Holder Tess Coady recently won the 2022 Snow Australia Alex ‘Chumpy’ Pullin Award for Outstanding Achievement.

2021 T3 Scholarship Holder Jamieson Leeson claimed BC3 gold at the 2022 Boccia World Cup, with her ramp assistant  Amanda Leeson.

2022 T1 Scholarship Holder Jess Rice-Ward and her horse Dinero rode a perfect 5/5 clear rounds and were the only pair to place in the top 3 on each day of the Victorian Young Rider titles. They finished the event as overall runners-up.

2022 T3 Scholarship Holder Oscar Stubbs has been drafted by the Western Bulldogs to play in the upcoming VBFL season, and has been selected to represent Australia at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

2022 T3 Scholarship Holder Imandi Seneviratne claimed a sensational U21 gold medal at the 2022 Australian Open Karate Championships, then backed her win up with a bronze medal in the senior division at the same event.

2021 T1 SAHOF Scholarship Holder Molly Picklum was recently named the Female Surfer of the Year at the 2022 Australian Surfing Awards to cap off another brilliant year for one of world surfing’s rising stars.

Congratulations to 2021 T1 SAHOF Scholarship Holder Jed Morgan who recently topped the PGA Tour of Australasia Order of Merit and earned a spot on the DP World Tour as well as starts in the US and British Opens.

Scholarship Holders Amy Lawton and Hattie Shand have both been selected for the Hockeyroos and are currently in New Zealand preparing for the 2022 IHHF World Championships to be held in Finland from May 13.

A reminder that 2023 Scholarship & Mentoring Program applications opening June, 2022. You can find more information here. Pictures via Instagram.

Chairs' Round Table for Sport

The fourth Chairs’ Round Table for Sport (CRT) was held on March 29 and again brought Australian sport’s most influential leaders together to share their knowledge and discuss and debate the most relevant and cutting-edge topics and issues.

The invitation-only event was facilitated by former Senior Consultant, Gold Medal Ready Program at the Australian Institute of Sport, Dr Jemma King and explored high performance in sport, with a focus on the history, evolution, and effectiveness of ‘Gold Medal Ready’ and what comes next as we enter a new quadrennium. The audience of Australian sport NSO Chairs, Presidents, CEO’s, SAHOF Members and Scholarship Holders heard from a panel of expert coaches and administrators, including former Swimming Australia Head Coach Jacco Verhaeren, SAHOF Member Alisa Camplin-Warner AM, David Culbert and SAHOF Member Anna Meares representing Commonwealth Games Australia, SAHOF Member and Australian Sports Commission CEO Kieren Perkins OAM and SAHOF Chair John Bertrand AO.

Audience feedback was overwhelmingly positive, with many taking time to write to SAHOF to express their thanks for being involved and to pass on their congratulations to the panel of speakers.

Special thanks to CRT presenting partners Sportscover and supporting partners of the event Sport Australia, the Australian Institute of Sport, and Victorian University.

SAHOF Member News

Congratulations to 2021 SAHOF Inductee Jana Pittman whose family has grown by TWO after Jana and her husband, Paul welcomed twins Willow and Quinlan in April. The recent additions are already adored by their siblings Cornelis, Emily, Jemima, and Charlie. Picture via Instagram.


2023 SAHOF Inductees

2023 SAHOF Inductees

SPORT AUSTRALIA HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES SEVEN NEW INDUCTEES Seven new inductees were announced today for…

Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search