skip to Main Content

Team Sport Australia Award | 2002

Rugby League

The 1963 Kangaroos were the first Australian team to win the coveted rugby league ‘Ashes’ trophy in England. There had been ten previous Kangaroo tours of Great Britain and France prior to 1963 and no Australian side had won the Ashes in Great Britain. The achievement was even more creditable when the quality of the British side is considered. Contained in the British team were some of their greatest ever players, underlining the merit and importance of the series win. As a further indication that this was a pivotal moment in rugby league history, Australia has not lost a series in England since the 1963 Kangaroos showed them what could be done.

Kangaroo Test Tour


Arthur Summons


Arthur Summons

Team Members:

John Cleary, Mike Cleary, Peter Diamond, Ken Day, Peter Gallagher, Reg Gasnier, John Gleeson, Brian Hambly, Earl Harrison, Ken Irvine, Les Johns, Noel Kelly, Graeme Langlands, Jim Lisle, Barry Muir, Paul Quinn, John Raper, Barry Rushworth, Kevin Ryan, Kevin Smyth, Frank StantonDick Thornett, Ken Thornett, Ian Walsh, Graham Wilson.


Back To Top
×Close search