skip to Main Content
2024 Scholarship & Mentoring Program Tier 3 Scholarship Holders Announced
Tier 3 Schols website


The Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) is continuing its commitment to young athletes, awarding a further $40,000 in elite scholarships to 16 rising stars in the 2024 Scholarship and Mentoring Program.

Among the recipients is the youngest para-triathlete on the Australia team, 19-year-old Jack Howell, who is breaking barriers. Jack, who was born without a left hand and is classified as an amputee, won the National Championship title in Para Triathlon (PTS5) and now is also the National Champion in 15-19 years able body. He is the youngest Para Triathlon international competitor, and already on the long list for the Paralympic Games in Paris.

The Tier 3 scholarship group covers 16 sports, with each athlete receiving a grant of $2,500 plus support from SAHOF and its esteemed member base over the next 15 months.

The 2024 Tier 3 scholarship recipients are Kristy Appleton (water skiing), Jaxon Bowshire (diving), India Colombi (gymnastics – artistic), Angus Grenfell (motorcycle racing), Ella Hose (para athletics), Jack Howell (para triathlon), Samuel Labaki (fencing), Brin Liddell (sailing), Taj Marsh (weightlifting), Alexis Proctor (boxing), Phoenix Sparke (biathlon), Mela Stalker (snowboarding), Felicity Wilson-Haffenden (cycling), Talia Woodroffe (pistol shooting), Olivia Wunsch (swimming) and Luke Zeliff (speed skating).

Over the last three weeks, 32 Sport Australia Hall of Fame scholarships covering 28 sports have been announced, supporting the next generation of Australia’s sporting stars on their journey to excellence and success in sport and in life.

As the nation’s leading sports scholarship program, backed by the Australian Sports Commission incorporating the Australian Institute of Sport, $150,000 of funding has been awarded this year to the recipients for use on resources to help them achieve greatness in their chosen sport. As well as funding via a sporting expenses grant, all three tiers include SAHOF encouragement and support via various initiatives throughout the program. All three tiers are also provided with merchandise from SAHOF’s partners BLACKROLL® and Grip Star Socks.

2024 Sport Australia Hall of Fame Tier 3 Scholarship Holders

Kristy Appleton – Water Skiing
Jaxon Bowshire – Diving
India Colombi – Gymnastics – Artistic
Angus Grenfell – Motorcycle Racing
Ella Hose – Para Athletics
Jack Howell – Para Triathlon
Samuel Labaki – Fencing
Brin Liddell – Sailing
Taj Marsh – Weightlifting
Alexis Proctor – Boxing

Phoenix Sparke – Biathlon

Mela Stalker – Snowboarding

Felicity Wilson-Haffenden – Cycling

Talia Woodroffe – Pistol Shooting

Olivia Wunsch – Swimming

Luke Zeliff – Speed Skating


On receiving his scholarship, para-triathlete Jack Howell said: “It is such an honour to be selected as a Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship recipient. The scholarship shows me that others believe in me and my ability to strive for greatness in my sport. I am so grateful for the support towards extensive costs and support to be the best athlete I can be.”

Sport Australia Hall of Fame Chief Executive Officer, Adrianne Sarkozy, said: “The Scholarship and Mentoring Program is a unique and powerful program which has seen many of our athletes go on to achieve success on the world stage. We are so grateful to be able to provide these 32 scholarships to help these young athletes chase their sporting dreams.

“This year we had almost 300 applicants from over 50 sports, which is a testament to the importance and popularity of the program. These scholarships really are a once in a lifetime opportunity to receive not only financial support but encouragement and guidance from the Sport Australia Hall of Fame and our members via various initiatives throughout the program.

“The level of talent amongst these young athletes is incredible and I am particularly excited this year to follow the journeys of our new and past Scholarship holders.”

Please click here for more information including National Sporting Organisation CEO/Chair quotes and Scholarship Holder quotes.


2023 SAHOF Inductees

2023 SAHOF Inductees

SPORT AUSTRALIA HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES SEVEN NEW INDUCTEES Seven new inductees were announced today for…

Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search