skip to Main Content
2023 Scholarship Program Summary
News Featured Image (8)

Congratulations to all 2023 Sport Australia Hall of Fame Scholarship & Mentoring Program recipients.

Throughout September, the Sport Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) welcomed another 32 Australian athletes into the Scholarship & Mentoring Program. With thanks to the Australian Sports Commission and the AIS, the 2023 Program will provide a total of $150,000 in funding across three tiers, as well as access to a SAHOF Member as their Mentor. Congratulations to all 32 Scholarship Holders and thank you to those Members who will provide their valuable time and expertise as Mentors for those in Tier 1.

Since 2006, the Program has assisted 177 athletes across 46 sports with a total of $855k in grants, and 66 SAHOF Members have generously volunteered their time to Mentor the next generation of Australian dream builders.

Tier 1 Scholarship Holders

T1 Schol Holders_no logo

Our 2023 Tier 1 Scholarship Holders are six young athletes from six different sports; Claire Colwill (hockey), Stefan Elliott-Shircore (sailing), Mackenzie Mielczarek (athletics – javelin), Jesse Parkinson (snowboarding), Alyssa Polites (cycling) and Max Stagg (baseball) who will have access to unrivalled mentoring and support from Australia’s most successful sporting greats.

The Program wouldn’t be possible without the incredible support of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame Members who generously volunteer their time as Mentors; Nat Cook OAM (volleyball), Steve Waugh AO (cricket), Sharon Buchanan OAM (hockey), Barton Lynch (surfing), Leisel Jones OAM (swimming) and Luc Longley AM (basketball). [Read More]

Tier 2 Scholarship Holders

T2 Schol Holders_no logo

In 2023, a further ten Scholarship Holders from ten sports – Paddle/Surf Lifesaving, Breaking, Water Polo, Para Athletics, Gymnastics, Table Tennis, Boxing, Cycling, Para Swimming and Sport Climbing – have been selected as part SAHOF’s Tier 2 Scholarship Program.

Claudia Bailey, Jeff Dunne, Tenealle Fasala, Angus Hincksman, Alexandra Kiroi-Bogatyreva, Yangzi Liu, Lekeisha Pergoliti, Cameron Rogers, Alex Saffy and Dylan Soin will each receive a $5,000 sporting grant plus support and encouragement across the next 15 months from Sport Australia Hall of Fame. [Read More]

Tier 3 Scholarship Holders

T3 Schol Holders _no logo

The 2023 group of sixteen Tier 3 Scholarship Holders hail from a variety of sports including Athletics, Badminton, Diving, Fencing, Modern Pentathlon, Motorsport – Bike, Netball, Paddle, Rowing, Shooting, Skiing – Cross Country, Surf Lifesaving, Swimming, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon and Weightlifting.

Paige Barr, Breanna Collins, Kaitlyn Ea, Ash Ervin, Joseph Glasson, Hugo Hinckfuss, Genevieve Janse van Rensburg, and Aidan Murphy along with Katinka Penketh, Jamie Perkins, Toby Powers, Jasmine Rayward, Kate Rosman, Jacob Roulstone, Oliver Saxton and Philip Sekulic round out the 2023 Program and will each receive a $2500 sporting grant plus support and encouragement across the next 14  months from SAHOF. [Read More]


Screen Shot 2022-09-23 at 11.43.56 am

We are excited to be continuing our partnership with the Sport Australia Hall of Fame as the official SAHOF Scholarship & Mentoring Program recovery equipment provider for 2023.

To celebrate, we are offering 20% off storewide for you. Use code SAHOF20 at checkout.

Besides making sure the young athletes have access to premium recovery equipment, we will also actively contribute to building a sound understanding of the various recovery and self-care methods that can make all the difference throughout their sporting careers.

Learn more about the BLACKROLL® range and explore our premium recovery equipment in our Online Store.


Untitled design (22)

The Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) has united with some of the nation’s leading Olympic, Paralympic and Commonwealth Games coaches to better support the modern coach and make Australia a world-leader in high performance coaching by Brisbane 2032.

Eleven coaches from as many sports, including Australian Diamonds netball coach Stacey Marinkovich, Swimming Australia head coach Rohan Taylor, Australian Kookaburras hockey coach Colin Batch and Para-Athletics coach Louise Sauvage, have spent the past nine months working together as part of the inaugural AIS Coach Summit Program, which culminated in a three-day event in Alice Springs.

Diamonds Coach Stacey Marinkovich said: “These programs are critical because I think coaching is so holistic. There’s always the technical tactical side of what you do and put on the field or on a court, but there’s also the wellbeing, the psychology and interacting with sports science.
“There’s so many different elements and expectations and pressures that come with running an elite program. But this program really enables us to lift our heads and look to the future, not just in our own sport, but what we need to do to develop the future of coaching.”

Four time-Paralympian and Para-athletics Coach Louise Sauvage continued: “I think it’s very important to have a balance not only for the athletes, but for the coaches. It’s important to put that same importance on coach wellbeing and to know that they are being taken care of. We’re so focussed all the time on the athletes and how they are going to perform, but we need to perform as well.
“Through the AIS Coach Summit, I’ve learnt so much from the other coaches and their experiences, how they handled different situations and how I can learn from them and integrate that into my programs.”

Following the success of the inaugural program, a second edition of the AIS Coach Summit Program was launched earlier this year, with the findings from the two groups to shape expanded AIS coach development programs and support services. For more information, please visit the AIS website here.

Inaugural AIS Coaching Summit Participants include; Colin Batch (Hockey), Tim Decker (Cycling), Myriam Fox (Canoe Kayak slalom), Adrian Hinchcliffe (Diving), Stacey Marinkovich (Netball), Peter McNeil (Mogul freestyle skiing), Alois Rosario (Para-table tennis), Louise Sauvage OAM (Para-athletics), Rohan Taylor (Swimming), Belinda Stowell (Sailing). Brad Tutton (Beach volleyball).

Program Produced by (2)


Vale Ron Barassi AM

Vale Ron Barassi AM

27/02/1936 – 16/09/2023 The Sport Australia Hall of Fame is mourning the passing of esteemed Member…

Back To Top
×Close search